Polite Requests

Men have moved to cities

where I’ve wanted to live –

cities I can’t afford,

cities I’m not good enough for –

only to complain that the

trains are late and that

somehow they’re bored.

The life I want is in their hands,

and yet their gratitude is

low in demand.

 

I can’t presume that the man

in your life is full of such ingratitude,

but I hope he cherishes the day he fell.

 

I hope he treats you well.

I hope he holds you like you’re

porcelain.

I hope his lips go numb when he

kisses you.

I hope he shakes when he tells you

he loves you,

and I hope that he’s my conduit.

If I can never show you

just how much I love you

then I hope someone else

can grant you that fortune.

© Sam Hunt, 2017

Leave a Reply

